The NIST beamlines at NSLS II

The Synchrotron Science group is part of the Materials Measurement Laboratory at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Group leader Dr. Daniel A. Fischer.

The Synchrotron Science Group develops and disseminates measurement science and technology pertaining to the measurement of structure, including chemical and electronic, of advanced materials and structures by synchrotron methods; provides, maintains, and supports synchrotron measurement capabilities as part of the DOE User Facility Program, primarily at the National Synchrotron Light Source II.

Synchrotron Science Group

As part of their program the Synchrotron Science group is developing several new concepts in x-ray photo-electron spectroscopy and microscopy (XPS). This program includes the high spatial resolution NIST XPS microscope. This microscope is a new class of electron optical instrument and was invented by Dr. Raymond Browning. The new technique Vector Potential Photo-Electron Microscopy (VPPEM) was tested as a proof-of-principle instrument at the National Synchrotron Light Source (NSLS I) at Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL) Upton NY. This NSLS I was closed at the end of 2014, and has been replaced by NSLS II.

NIST has developed three x-ray beamlines at NSLS II. These beamlines include two high brightness undulator beamlines at NSLS II 7ID. These are a soft 100 eV to 2 keV beamline, and a tender 2 KeV to 7.5 kEV beamline. These two beamlines are coincident at the NIST XPS microscope endstation with 10 micron high flux density focii.

The VPPEM is currently being developed to take advantage of the two beamlines, and to extend the state of the art in photoelectron microscope for materials science.

First Light updates from the NIST website First light